为什么是Dappy ?

Dappy是一个具有直接加密功能的名称系统。DNS和证书授权系统只允许间接的TLS身份,在这些设置中,门户网站只能实现有限的安全和隐私,因为它依赖于许多身份提供者,而每个身份提供者都构成一个控制或攻击的载体。

Dappy实现了直接的身份管理,从而消除了整个系列的攻击,使所有类型的网络服务(B2B门户网站、SaaS等)实现了更高的保密性、稳定性和安全性,同时保持简单的可访问性。

处理集装箱运输的重要B2B网络门户

在许多行业中,网络安全和意识正在成为一个战略话题,攻击变得越来越精细,许多企业被破坏的程度也是前所未有的。同时,数字化、精益化的用户体验、数字服务的扩展和倍增是许多人的目标和要求,以保持竞争力。

公共网络是快速部署网络门户的首选平台,并允许第三方客户、供应商或合作伙伴阅读或下载一些数据,触发一些业务操作或沟通关键信息。

SaaS,网络门户和网络攻击:一些数字

*面向公众的网络应用程序现在是渗透到组织周边的最广泛使用的攻击载体。根据2022年卡巴斯基事件响应分析报告,从网络应用开始的攻击从2020年的31.5%增加到2021年的53.6%*。

全球DNS威胁报告》(2021年)还指出,95万美元是DNS攻击的平均成本(停机时间和/或品牌损害)

另外,钓鱼网站的成本从2015年的380万美元上升到2021年的1480万美元,根据Ponemon研究所的2021年钓鱼网站成本研究。

勒索软件、TLS拦截(中间人)、网络钓鱼、通过注册处或注册商进行的DNS攻击。这么多事情都可能发生,公司往往会优先保护最大的攻击面,而对一些领域的保护较少。

为了理解数以百万计的企业是如何在这种情况下结束的,我们必须考虑到公共网络不是为关键的门户网站或高价值的B2B用例而设计的,而是以一种非常开放和放任的方式。公共网络对于社交、博客、零售电子商务来说是很好的,但对于许多其他的应用来说却不是一个很好的发展场所。并非所有的网站都要处理相同的批判性,处理相同的合理数据或必须遵守相同的合规规则。

DNS、证书颁发机构HTTPS和浏览器

网络工作广泛采用独特的可信机构的概念。威瑞信保证了.com域名的安全,AFNIC保证了.fr域名的安全,上述注册机构有成千上万的注册商,有数百名员工。DNS的每个部分都构成了一个攻击载体,可以(并且在过去)谴责一个特定的业务运营。考虑到在Windows上安装了400多个根证书,HTTPS/证书授权方面的情况甚至更糟。这400个机构中的任何一个都有可能进行中间人拦截,而没有人注意到。除此之外,Chrome商店允许其130.000多个浏览器扩展中的任何一个被一键安装,并在任何页面中注入javascript。

我们确定这对那些携带非常关键的数据,或每天价值数百万美元的B2B业务的门户网站来说是正确的设置吗

dappy

处理建筑敏感数据的关键B2B网络门户

Dappy是一个直接的身份系统。Dappy是一个公共名称系统,HTTPS基础设施和一套为企业设计的网络浏览器,专门为关键的门户网站和B2B业务进行调整。它为其用户和在该系统上暴露其网站的服务提供商提供军事级别的安全、弹性和隐私。Dappy像普通网络浏览器**或DNS一样容易使用。除此之外,证书管理也变得更容易,因为没有证书更新,名称系统是证书分发的锚。

通过切换到Dappy或至少选择混合Dappy+DNS分配模式,某公司(我们将其命名为A公司)立即向其所有需要远程访问一个或多个门户网站的客户或顾客提供DNSSEC、DNS-over-HTTPS和内部TLS证书安装的安全优势。

它是如何工作的?

以共同决议为保障的重要供应链网络门户

Dappy是一个独立于DNS的命名系统,它的浏览器专门为关键业务的网络应用程序而建。Dappy打破了对某一特定资源的指定机构的信任逻辑,它使用分布式信任的原则,并执行信任总是投入到独立公司的网络中,没有唯一的故障点或决定,而不是指定的组织(如CA或DNS公司)。

第1步,状态共享/区块链

在dappy的核心,有一个dappy网络,这是一个由位于不同国家的基础设施公司组成的网络,但用区块链等技术共享他们的状态。名称系统被编码到该区块链中,A公司只需购买一个域名companya.d,并自由地将IP地址和自签证书添加到其区域(记住,现在已经没有证书颁发机构)。

第二步,共同决议

现在名称系统有了正确的数据,而且A公司已经通过dappy名称系统暴露了它的网络资源,客户、供应商或顾客需要发现这些网站(服务发现),这是关键的部分,因为他们只知道域名。

Dappy的服务发现是基于共同决议的,以确保在检索IP地址或TLS加密证书这一关键步骤中不会出错。浏览器将直接向dappy网络的许多成员询问与特定资源相对应的IP地址和TLS证书,然后它将检查响应的同质性。只有当至少90%甚至100%的响应是相同的,浏览器才会与最终的网络服务器连接。通信是完全保密的,因为没有一个机构能够提供替代证书。

这就是 "为什么 "和 "如何 "的结论。我们希望听到你对这个话题的看法,以及dappy方法如何与你的企业目标或挑战产生共鸣!

Why dappy ?

Dappy is a name system with direct encryption. DNS and the certificate authorities systems only allow indirect TLS identities, in those settings web portals can only achieve limited security and privacy because they rely many identity providers who each constitue a vector of control or attack.

Dappy allows direct management of identities, and thus removes entire families of attack and allow more private, stable and secure web services, B2B portals and SaaS to exist on the public web.

Critical B2B portals handling shipping of container

Cybersecurity context

Accross many industries, cybersecurity and awareness is now more than never a strategic topic, attacks become more and more elaborate, and many businesses are disrupted at unprecedented levels. In parallel digitization, lean user experience, and expansion and multiplication of digital services is a goal and requirement for many in order to stay competitive.

Public web is the go-to platform for quickly deploying a web portal, and allow third party customers, suppliers or partners to read or download some data, trigger some business operations or communicate key information.

SaaS, web portals and cyberattacks : some numbers

Public-facing web apps are now the most widely used attack vector to penetrate an organization’s perimeter. Attacks that start in web apps increased from 31.5% in 2020 to 53.6% in 2021 according to Kaspersky Incident Response Analytics Report, 2022.

Global DNS Threat Report bu Efficient IP (2021) also reports $950k is average cost of a DNS attack (downtime and/or brand damage)

Also, The cost of phishing went from USD3,8M in 2015 to USD14,8M in 2021 according to Ponemon institute, The 2021 Cost of Phishing Study.

Ransomware, TLS interception (man-in-the-middle), phishing, DNS attacks through registries or registrars. So many things can happen that a company will often prioritize protection on the biggest attack surfaces, and leave some areas less protected.

In order to understand how millions of businesses ended up in this situation, one must consider that the public web has not been designed for critical web portals, or high value B2B usecases, but instead in a very open and permissive fashion. The public web is great for social, blogging, retail e-commerce but not a great place to thrive for many other applications. Not all websites deal with the same level of criticity, process the same sensible data or must obey the same compliance rules.

DNS, Certificate Authorities HTTPS and browsers

The web works broadly with the concept of unique trusted authorities : Verisign secures the .com domains, AFNIC secures .fr domains, above registries thousands of registrar exist, with hundreds of employees. Each segment of the DNS constitutes an attack vector that can (and have in the past) condemn a given business operations. It's even worse on the HTTPS /Certificate authority side, considering that on Windows, 400+ root certificates are installed. Any one of these 400 organizations could potentially conduct man-in-the-middle interceptions, without anyone noticing. The identities on the public web are indirect identities, they are structuraly dependent on many providers that must coordinate one with another. That is why security and criticity are limited. A security engineer concerned about the security of its web applications will also notice that regular browsers allow 100.000+ browser extensions to be installed in one click, adding again another level of unpredictability.

Are we sure that this is the right setup for web portals that carry very critical data, or millions of dollars worth of B2B operations each day ?

dappy

Critical B2B web portal handling construction sensitive data

Dappy is a name system with direct encryption. It is a public name system, HTTPS infrastructure and set of web browsers engineered for enterprise, specifically tuned for critical web portals and B2B operations. It provides military-grade security, resiliency and privacy to its users, and the service providers exposing their websites on the system. Dappy is as easy to use as a regular web browser or the DNS. In addition to this, certificate management is made easier, as there are no certificate renewals, the name system being the anchor for certificate distribution.

By switching to dappy or at least choosing a hybrid dappy+DNS distribution model, A given company (we'll name Company A) instantly provides the security benefits of DNSSEC, DNS-over-HTTPS and in-house TLS certificate installation to all it's customers or clients that need remote access to one or many web portals.

How does it work ?

A critical supply chain web portal secured by co-resolution

Dappy is a separate naming system from DNS, with a browser built specifically for mission-critical web applications. The protocol breaks with the logic of trust being put on a designated authority for a given resource, it uses the principles of distributed trust, and enforces that trust is always put into to a network of independent companies with no unique point of failure or decision, instead of a designated organization (Like a CA or DNS company).

Step 1, state sharing / blockchain

At the core of dappy, there is the dappy network, which is a (and not tokenized) network of infrastructure companies located in different countries, but sharing their state with a technology such as blockchain. The name system is coded into that blockchain, company A can just purchase a domain companya.d and freely add IP addresses and self-signed certificates to its zone (remember there are no Certificate Authorities anymore).

Step 2, co-resolution

Now that the name system has the right data, and that company A has exposed it's web resources through the dappy name system, the clients, suppliers or customers needs to discover the websites (service discovery), that's the critical part because they only know the domain name.

Dappy's service discovery is based on co-resolution to enforce that nothing goes wrong in this critical step of retrieving IP addresses or TLS encryption certificates. The browser will directly ask many members of the dappy network for the IP addresses and TLS certificates corresponding to a given resource, it will then check for the homogeneity of the responses. Only if at least 90% or even 100% of the responses are identical, will the browsers connect with the final web server. Communication is perfectly private because no single authority is capable of providing an alternative certificate.

This concludes the "Why" and "How". We'd love to hear you take on this topic and how the dappy approach resonates with your enterprise goals or challenges !